Hung-over musings.

September 20, 2008 at 1:18 pm (Uncategorized)

So, it’s been almost two months, I think, since I stopped playing WoW, and roughly 1 month since I shut down Survival Hunters Anonymous.

The last time I quit, it was more of a “I’m going out on top, I kick too much ass and I’m way too good for the game” feeling. This time, it was more of a “fuck this game. Just… fuck it. I’m done. I feel old and tired and I’ve had it.” I was beyond burned out; I was, am, and will be done with it.

Thank you, again, for the outpouring of well-wishes and cries of agony. I hope you all liked the RP way of going out; I’ve become a fan of telling stories lately, and I think that one did its job particularly well, for being something off the top of my head without any planning or method.

Inasmuch as life is concerned, it goes on. I’m still adjusting to the graduate school schedule, the work involved, and trying to have a “life”. Given the fact that my year isn’t really one to go out and hang, it could be rough. S’okay. Worse things could happen. I keep telling myself that, it’s an unfortunate mantra. Worse things can happen, worse things do happen.

But, for the most part, worse things haven’t. Life’s been going pretty well. The chick I met months ago who was into WoW wasn’t the prize I thought she might be. She really wasn’t a prize at all, kind of a raving nutjob who frothed at the mouth when I didn’t think of spending time with her.

It’s funny. I know a lot of people who just stay in awkward relationships because they feel almost obligated to. Like, “you need to have somebody else in your life, no matter how unhappy you are or they make you.”. I may or may not be the king of relationships that barely last a month or two, but at least I understand that the recipe for success involves being happy on both sides…and both sides being relatively sane or mature. That said, the 29 year old (boo on dating older women, by the by) has been let go, and now I find myself going after a younger one. 

It has been a long time, a long, long time, since I’ve met a girl I would chase. I just knew from the moment i saw, something telling me from a place deep within, that I had to know her. So far, it seems to be going well. Hell, she’s smarter than I am!

I think I’ll eat my breakfast, and then go for a walk to the park. I feel like reading and writing, and today’s weather leaves nothing to want.

-Brian

Leave a Reply

