Go Steelers?

April 28, 2008 at 4:19 pm (Uncategorized)

In lieu of Doom’s post on his hockey fanaticism, I’m bringing up my love of football, which is not nearly as deep or as emotionally involved as anything Doom does in regards to hockey.

(Although I do have to say, nerf guns as a means of psychic goal deterrant is a hell of an idea.)

I am a Steelers fan.

Yes, I live in New Jersey. North Jersey, near NYC.

By all means, I should be a Giants or Jets fan, but hear me out.

It’s a long, fun story, and I figure, post-draft, it’s time to talk about it.

This all hearkens back to the days of my youth.

See, my dad was never a conventional sports guy.

He was into cars.

Really, REALLY into cars.

We watched the Super Bowl for the car commercials, y’dig?

So, although I could appreciate the tackles, and saw some good catches, I didn’t really begin to start watching football until my Senior year at college.

That year, 2006-2007 was a full season after the Steelers won the Super Bowl. Yes, I was aware they won it, but past that, bupkis.

So I start watching, first game of the season. Steelers vs. Dolphins. My roommates have already been giving me shit about me not watching football, and when we tossed on some games, I was all about players with crazy hair, like Troy Palomalu. Heavy metal and smashmouth football go well together, so I think guys like that are awesome.

So I figure, hey, if the Steelers win the first game, that’s who I’m rooting for.

Lo and behold, on that night, I became a Steelers fan after a few hours of awesome football.

I watch them

Anyway, this past season, I missed out. Due to working at Apple, I missed all but two Sunday games – a later game for the Steelers, and the Super Bowl.

I kept up on scores, sure, but I didn’t get my favorite part – watching the game.

So, naturally, that, more than anything, was a driving reason behind not wanting to work at Apple. (Among several other reasons)

I’m not a total stat junkie (yet – that takes some time to set in), but I love watching them play. I also haven’t played a ton of football, so I’m a little off on my analysis in comparison to people who grew up with it.

I’d make comments about what I liked from the Draft, but I’m not really aware of their needs, other than things need to improve. They can’t score as easily as some teams *coughCOLTScough* can, and I think this is more due to good wide receiver-age (not to bash Ward, but the Steelers need more than just one good Wide Receiver). They also need a decent running back – when their receivers got covered and they opted for rushes, it worked well, but again, they need multiple good players, not just one or two solid options.

And Defense… hoo boy, they need it. Whatever Tomlin’s got up his sleeve, I hope they go balls-out with it.

-Brian

Leave a Reply

