Love is metal.

March 18, 2008 at 6:40 pm (Uncategorized)

I was listening to a little Youthanasia-era Megadeth in the car today. I feel like it wasn’t really given its due, being that Mustaine wrote much, much more cohesive stuff in his earlier days, and that it sounds a lot like Load-era Metallica.

I’d have to say, my favorite track off that album, far and away, is “A Tout Le Monde”. Helped me get through plenty of rough times in college, tried to learn it a couple times, didn’t go so well.

(Hey, you try learning a Marty Friedman solo.)

It’s the core emotion of the song that really stuck with me. I think of it as the other side of the song “Fade To Black” by Metallica, and to a greater extent, like the Dias De Los Muertos. Whereas “Fade To Black” channels the absolute misery and emptiness of somebody deeply depressed or dying, “A Tout Le Monde” looks at the other end – the sadness of dying, and the overwhelming love that somebody leaving us may want to leave behind.

I think Dave said it best, “it was my impression of what I would like to say to people, if I had say, 3 seconds to do so in life before I died I’d say to the entire world, to all my friends, I love you all, and now I must go. These are the last words I’ll ever speak, and they’ll set me free. I don’t need to say I’m sorry, I don’t have to say I’m going to miss you, or I’ll wait for ya. You know, I’ll just say I loved you all, good, bad and different, I loved you all.”

It’s really a beautiful thing.

I don’t apologize for the semi-serious departure. Can’t play at being fun all the time, but if you try to be persistently deep, it becomes an incredible bore, so I try to strike a balance between the two.

-Brian

2 Comments

  1. Hershey said,

    Absolutely love that song, one of Megadeth’s best. That album came out shortly after I graduated high school, so it was one I certainly rocked out to in my early Navy days. As you are probably well aware, the reason there’s so much alike between Metallica and Megadeth is Mustaine was one of the founding members of Metallica before he was shown the door. Don’t you just love band drama?

  2. Trackhoof said,

    Heh, yeah. Love it.

    I always thought it was funny – Here they’ve had totally different styles for about 10 years, and then bam! Mid-90’s roll around and they almost sound exactly the same.

Leave a Reply

