Boredom… the monster returns.

March 16, 2008 at 7:45 pm (Grad School, Planning for the Future)

Argh.

It’s been probably around 3 weeks since I gave up WoW, but two of them haven’t been spent at home, so the separation was easier.

Now, the move to find other ways to entertain myself begins, to avoid the, “ugh, I hate WoW so much, but I could really use a way to kill an afternoon right now”. “Gulliver’s Travels”, and the tabs for “Ace of Spades” in Guitar World, will do nicely as a replacement. \m/

Also, in other news, I put together a powerpoint presentation with requisite information and a detailed plan for my attendance of grad school for my parents.

I’ll be taking out loans for the expenses, but they’ve promised to help out a bit with housing (if I get into Villanova, it’ll be a stipend for rent for an apartment, if I get into a more local school, it’ll be I get to stay in my room), and they were thoroughly impressed. I covered everything, from requirements, benefits, major choice, and finances to the general five-year plan involved.

They also made the mistake of saying, offhand, “We don’t care what you do, as long as your facts are straight”… so I dressed for the occasion, wearing a tie on my forehead, elf shorts (as in, they’re red and green and have bells on them), a dress shirt, a hawaiian shirt, a martial arts belt, boots, and my sister’s scarf in place of a regular tie. Glorious.

I addressed them in a very business-like manner, right down to my pink flamingo pen, and I was amazed at how composed they were through the whole process, and how we were able to have a serious conversation when I was dressed like an absolute maniac.

I was also amazed at how damn good my legs look in boots.

-Brian

1 Comment

  1. Hershey said,

    Again, it seems we’ve got the same ideas. A few days after deleting my characters and uninstalling the game, I picked up my guitar for the first time in over a year. Damn, it feels good to get those calluses back on my fingertips.
    And way to paint a picture of your clothing. The flamingo pen was a nice touch 😉

Leave a Reply

