Getting paid to complain?

March 11, 2008 at 4:28 pm (Grad School)

So I’m crashing out here at Villanova, in a room that makes the average jail cell look comfortable, hanging out with my sister. She’s the best.

She’s also slightly deranged, but her friends are just as whacky.

So what’m I doing here?

Grad school, baby.

I sat in on a class last night, and for all the months I worked at Apple, I finally feel like I’m using my brain at a higher level. Lots of interesting stuff, as it’s on Organizational Communications, a subject I have no experience with but am incredibly intrigued by. The prof was awesome, very accommodating, and I even participated.

Well, despite having 4 hours of sleep. I’m still surprised that I made as much sense as I did.

But anyway, grad school’s definitely the ticket. Once i got past the earth-shattering revelation that I would in no way be able to handle five classes a semester, full-time student or not (I’m used to taking five classes, even six), and I wouldn’t be out in a year, everything started making a bit more sense.

Plus, the prof mentioned what he does outside of teaching – consulting for companies, looking at channels of communication / data and telling them, objectively, what’s lacking or misdirected, and helping them achieve what they want to by offering directions or suggestions.

I think it’s awesome that people would actually pay somebody to objectively look at their company and tell them what they’re doing wrong. I think it’s more awesome that I could be that person.

Also, there were a couple cute as hell lady grad students there.

Boooonussssss!

-Brian / Track

P.S. Sleeping on floors is highly underrated. Dorms, as I recalled all too late, are highly overrated. But I was very happy to find out that good local apartments can be had for as little as $500 a month with a roommate. Cheaper than back home!

3 Comments

  1. Caiti said,

    Woot Brian 🙂 So what will your degree be in the “end all” of things? If you don’t mind my asking.

  2. trackhoof said,

    So far, it’s looking like Organizational Communications. 🙂

  3. Pike said,

    A part of me wants to go back to school for a second degree, since I decided I’m not a big fan of my first one. But another part thinks “You don’t even know what you want to be when you grow up, much less what you’d study if you went back” and another part of me remembers The Money Issue. 😦 Le sigh. But, good on ya for grad school!

Leave a Reply

